Family names and ages.

Starr (37 ) lives with her husband Ashley (43) and children Joseph (9), Hannah (8), Ella (6) and Juliet (4) as well as their terrier Trixie, in a sweet little village in Surrey, UK.

Please explain your lifestyle and philosophy

When the children were smaller, and I spent so many years pregnant and breastfeeding, I had a lot of philosophies about parenting. We practiced attachment parenting as much as we could and were really careful with all of our lifestyle choices. As the children have grown older we’ve come to realise that our main philosophy about parenting and life, is simply just to fill it with as much love and fun as possible. 

Our daily life feels pretty ‘normal’ – really busy and full! The children attend our local village school, which we love. They take piano and tennis, ballet and swimming. They have homework, school trips, and playdates. Sometimes things run really smoothly, sometimes everything is chaos. My husband travels a lot with his work and we are all used to our routine shifting at a moment’s notice.  I think what I am learning more every day is to go with the flow. Let things go and focus on love and laughter. 

Do you work-from-home or are you a stay at home parent? Please tell us about it. 

I work from home part-time as a writer and as a PR and Marketing Specialist. For several years I owned a small independent publishing company. I’m used to hectic projects and tight deadlines. I actually thrive in short bursts of creative chaos and pressure. I’ve always been like this, even when I was in high school — when I was always at the helm of several big projects and ventures at once!

A recent project is one I have been working on with Womancraft publishing. It is called Moon Dreams Diary – a diary which is a simple yet powerful tool for charting your cycle and the moon and a gentle, guided introduction to this practice. I have loved working on a project that is so close to my heart.

These days I work mostly when the children are at school  – but it would be unrealistic to say that my work never spills over into family time. Sometimes I am frantically working on a deadline, while the children race around the house practicing piano, kicking footballs, running around with the dog all while my husbands cooks dinner! 

It’s life in all its glory  – busy, noisy, messy!

How do you make things work?

I don’t really know! I meditate and practice yoga. If things need to be done, we do them, and we make an effort to return to love and laughter even if things have been stressful. I’m not sure there’s anything more complicated about it! 

What inspired your lifestyle?

I think we kind of fell into our lifestyle. When the children were small we were committed to having one parent home with them. It was logical and easy that that person was me, while my husband worked. Now that everyone is getting older we are evolving as needed.

What are your child/children’s education options?

I think we are fortunate in this country to have great freedom and option for schooling. Our children are receiving an excellent and wholesome education at the local State school but equally I have friends who have close and enriching home education communities. I feel really grateful for this. 

If you work from home what is the best bit of advice you could give other parents who want to work from home?

The best advice would be advice I need myself: do not underestimate how much time things take! Especially if the children are home, progress on any work will be slow. This is something I need to remember!

What is your favourite family activity?

We are big food lovers. My husband is a wonderful cook and he always cooks with the children. We love trying new foods and one of our favourite ways to spend a Saturday is going into London’s Borough Market. We come home with wonderful treats and everyone feels very happy.

What has been your biggest family adventure so far?

Several years ago we travelled to Alaska to visit my family. We were there for four months and the children have vivid memories of moose, snow and the wild sea. 

What are you most grateful for (as a family or individually)?

I am grateful for our health and the opportunities we have because of where we live. My husband is my best friend and we have a happy, fulfilling life. 

Three words to describe how you feel about your lifestyle?

Happiness • Love • Fun

You can find out more about what Starr does at


We are excited to have started selling fab Hamaca Hammocks for all the family. We have a travel, family and kids version for sale on the website now. Made from ethical fabric and produced by another worldschooling family. We can't wait to recieve ours for our new place!