Natasha Rose (28) lives with her husband, Michel (40) and children Maya (5) and Mylo (3) in a village called Faia, near Guarda, Portugal. They own and run Senses Retreat together as well as Natasha being a DJ and Michel travelling the world to do sand and ice sculptures.

Please explain your lifestyle and philosophy

We try to uphold a self sustained lifestyle, growing our own fruit veg, and olive oil, keeping our footprint low, to respect our environment. Having made our own Spring water well, and now looking towards the same level of independence in our electricity, every step we take is one closer towards self sufficiency, which is our ultimate dream.
We feel claustrophobic in the city, and around too many people, we love our peace and quiet, quality time as a family, and couple. By building our farm into a place of business we are able to juggle our family life into our carriers, and incorporate all our passions into our job, that was also our goal.

Do you work-from-home or are you a stay at home parent? Please tell us about it.

We host weddings, glamping holidays, retreats, festivals, we have built up an infrastructure that can support all these things, and with constant improvements or ideas to be made into reality, we are always busy, there are so many aspects of the business which need to be split and shared, so i guess you could say we work from home, home being our job!

How do you make things work?

With practice! It has not always been easy, when we first jumped into this adventure it almost tore us apart, the stress, financial pressure, work load was almost to much to bear, but somehow we pulled through, the dark days are over, and now we have our routine, our responsibilities, the team work we share is crucial to making things work, without that, we would have nothing.

What inspired your lifestyle?

The reality we had is what inspired us, we knew we needed to make our own world, because we felt a little alienated in the one we lived in, also we didn’t want to be hippo critical, we had our opinions on lifestyle, and caring for the environment, talking about it is one thing, living it is another.

What are your child/ children’s education options?

Local Portuguese school, plus our input as parents.

If you work from home what is the best bit of advice you could give other parents who want to work from home?

Be hard on yourself, you are your own boss, so there is no one but you to construct your day and productivity. Also be soft on yourself, reach your goals, and chill out, what’s the point of being free if you don’t enjoy it!

What is your favourite family activity?

Walking through our local nature, collecting mushrooms, and other fauna.

What has been your biggest family adventure so far?

Being here! I can’t believe where we are, and how far we have come!

What are you most grateful for (as a family or individually)?

I am most grateful for the love I have around me.

Three words to describe how you feel about your lifestyle?

So very lucky!


Find out more about Senses retreat at and also about Michel’s work as a sculptor at

This error message is only visible to WordPress admins

Error: No posts found.

Make sure this account has posts available on